Oh, Fudge!

fudge

Well, boys and girls, it’s that time of year. Time to make the fudge. And yesterday, at 4:30 a.m., I woke up mighty early and did just that. Chocolate walnut and a new one: white chocolate candy cane. Yum! Not too cloyingly sweet with just enough peppermintiness (I have created a new word in honor of this new level of deliciousness).

Today I will also try the Oreo fudge (the one I did not get to make yesterday and totally forgot about until just this moment). Good thing I am sticking to my Sunday blog deadline, or there would be no Oreo fudge. Just saying. So, it’s a good thing to write.

Am also getting into the old-fashioned Christmas spirit thanks to a couple of things I picked up thanks to Dick Taber and his wonderful estate sales. This spring I practically stole a stereo system with a working turntable (and the CD player also works, and I get both public radio stations – not sure about the cassette player, but not worried about that at the moment). At a later sale, I picked up this little gem:

bing-christmas The Bing Crosby Merry Christmas album (Santa is just in the picture to lend holiday spirit). To be precise, on a few of the tracks it’s Bing AND the Andrews Sisters. Twenty-three skidoo! Or maybe, “It’s the cat’s pajamas,” or maybe “The bees knees.” No matter. It’s making mine a merry holiday.

So, as I wait for my dearest hubs to create his spareribs and kraut supper in the kitchen, Bing and I will be watching the lovely snow on the sunporch while the Juncos and woodpeckers dine at the feeders which are now chock full of tasty seed-liciousness (sorry – it must be the holiday beverage just making odd words pop from my keyboard).

woodpecker It’s a little hard to see, but here’s the woodpecker, who was hopping up and down the sycamore. I couldn’t really get good pictures with my phone, which does lead me to consider actually getting a decent camera.

And that brings me to the fact that my pictures aren’t cropped very well as yet. But I am making it a New Year’s resolution (all pun intended – get it? pictures; resolution?) to work harder at improving the look of this blog. I will learn how to insert better pictures and try to keep to my weekly posts, and maybe even post more often than once a week. But I don’t want to get crazy here.  Well, maybe just a little. Stay tuned and see how crazy it really gets around here.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

